Angsty preview is angsty.

So, assuming people have been checking the little Twitter widget on the side, you’ll be expecting a preview today. Alas, I haven’t completed the chapter yet, but here’s a little snippet from the new chapter to tide you over. It might not make much sense, but I’ll just say that this is a flashback. Unfortunately I won’t be resurrecting Knux anytime soon. Enjoy.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Inside Tails’s workshop, Amy sat silently, while Knuckles stood in front of the runway doors. He crossed his arms in front of his chest as he looked for any sign of the Tornado coming back. He fought to avert his eyes from the red sky, and the destruction to the north. He looked up as he heard the sound of a plane coming closer. The Tornado touched down on the runway and skidded to a stop just before running into Knuckles, who didn’t move an inch. “Get out of my way, Knuckles!” Tails yelled from the cockpit of the Tornado.

“Not until you calm down! This isn’t like you!”

“I said MOVE!” Tails slammed the throttle, pushing the Tornado forward. Knuckles dove out of the way and the Tornado crashed through the hangar door. Amy screamed, but she wasn’t hit. Knuckles charged inside, and as Tails jumped out of his plane Knuckles socked him in the face. Tails flew across the room and collided with the wall. Amy screamed again. Knuckles stomped over to him and picked him up by the tufts of fur on his chest.

“What the hell is wrong with you?! You could’ve killed Amy, or me! Do you want to lost all of your friends?”

“It doesn’t matter anymore!” Tails yelled, tears streaming down his face. “Everyone’s dead, or they will be! There’s no point!”

“Listen to me Tails, LISTEN!” Knuckles slammed Tails against the wall then brought him close to his face. “It’s not over until we let it be over. Do you think Sonic would just want you to give up?” Knuckles let Tails go, and he fell to the ground with a heavy thud before curling up in a balled sitting position. “Even with what’s happened, Robotnik might not have an exact plan thought out. If we can gather fighters and find his base we can start an attack and hit him right back,” Knuckles slammed his fists together to drive the point home.

“Why should you even care,” Tails mumbled so he was barely audible. But echidnas have surprisingly good hearing, and Knuckles turned towards him. “All you ever worry about is your island and that stupid rock you’ve got with you…”

“What was that? Is that really all you think I care about?”  Knuckles said, once again picking up Tails and slamming him against the wall. He held him there with one hand, pointing the other in his face. “Look fox-boy. I care about the world, I care about you two, and I cared about Sonic. And I am going to help you beat Robotnik.”

“I don’t care, I don’t need your help!” Tails screamed at Knuckles. “Just go back to your stupid floating island and leave us alone! We were better off without you!” Tails flinched as Knuckles pulled back his fist, but the presumed strike never came. Instead Knuckles released Tails and walked away.

“Fine, I’ll go back to my island. Good luck without me,” Knuckles said. He briefly looked to Amy, who had been watching with tear-filled eyes, then walked out the door.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

In other news, I am angered at my school’s network, since they’ve just decided to block most of my video game websites(such as Sonic Stadium and OCRemix) and deviantART. It’s rather annoying.

Leave a Reply

